Kavayitri Bahinabai Chaudhari North Maharashtra University, Jalgaon
कवयित्री बहिणाबाई चौधरी उत्तर महाराष्ट्र विद्यापीठ, जळगाव
Maharashtra, India
'A' Grade NAAC Re-Accredited (4th Cycle)
अंतरी पेटवू ज्ञानज्योत
Select Language :
Quick Info

Prof. D. S. Patil

M.Sc.,M.C.M., Ph.D. (Electronics)
School of Physical Sciences
Kavayitri Bahinabai Chaudhari North Maharashtra University, Jalgaon

School of Physical Science

The School of Physical Sciences consists of two departments namely, Department of Physics and Department of Electronics. In the academic year 1991-92 the School started its academic activity in Government Polytechnic, Jalgaon. In the first year of establishment, the School started a post-graduate program in Electronics under the Department of Electronics. In the subsequent year, a post-graduate course in Physics, with two specializations in Material Science and Energy Studies, was introduced under the Department of Physics. After the construction of few buildings on University Campus at Umavi Nagar, the School was initially shifted in the building of School of Chemical Sciences and finally, on October 2, 1997 in its own building.

At present, the School has 15 full time faculty members consisting of 06 Professors, 01 Associate Professors and 08 Assistant Professors. It is due to the dedicated efforts of the active faculty members, valuable guidance of the distinguished personalities, timely support of University authorities and un-quenching curiosity and enthusiasm of students, that the school is progressing to make on National and International arena in its academic pursuits and frontline research.Choice based credit system has been initiated by the School from academic year 2014-2015.

The University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi has recognized the research excellence of the School by granting the Departmental Research Support (DRS) – Phase I scheme in 2004 and it was upgraded to DRS – Phase II in 2010. Apart from the UGC support, the School also received major funding from the Department of Science and Technology (DST), New Delhi under the FIST program in 2005. It is also worth mentioning that the faculty members of the School have received considerable individual support through research projects from the National and International funding agencies like Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), New Delhi; UGC, New Delhi, All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), New Delhi; Ministry of Non-conventional Energy Sources (MNES), New Delhi, DST, New Delhi, Board of Research in Nuclear Sciences (BRNS), Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Mumbai and Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), Italy.

Till date School has received the amount of Rs. 43 Crores & 11.5 Lakhs from various National/International Funding Agencies for the Completed Research Projects. At Present, School has received amount of Rs. 2.65 Crores  for Running Projects.

The Department of Physics has research collaboration with National and International Universities and Institutions like University of Pune, National Chemical Laboratory, Korea Research Institute of Chemical Technology (KRICT), Daejeon, (South Korea), The Society for Advancement of Electrochemical Science and Technology (SAEST), CECRI, Karaikudi, (India), Center for Materials for Electronics Technology, University of South Florida (USA), University of Leipzig, Leipzig, (GERMANY)

The Department of Electronics have research collaboration with National and International Universities and Institutions like SAMEER, IIT Powai (India), University of Tokyo (Japan), Sony Corporation (Japan), Gunma University (Japan), Yokohama National University (Japan), Toyota Technological Institute (Japan), University of California, Riverside (USA), The University of Tokushima (Japan), University of Duisburg (Germany), Firat University (Turkey)   

The School has been recognized a technologically advanced center for high quality teaching and research to meet the latest requirements of companies and was granted by UGC to run the M.Tech, (VLSI Technology) course under the Faculty of Engineering in the scheme of Innovative Programs in the year 2005.

Copyright 2012 by KBCNMU,Jalgaon.